The doctor's house
At the very entry to the port Veli Brijun, an unusual building - the Boathouse, clearly stands out. It was built in 1902 in the Secession style of Austro-Hungarian architecture, and to this day it has attracted attention. It was home to Dr. Otto Lenz, the island doctor, in relation to whom this house has been called "La casa del Dottore" (the Doctor's house).
Recently, the Interpretation and Education Center of the Brijuni National Park has been opened at the Boathouse.
The permanent museum exhibition in the house
The new permanent exhibition is presented in an innovative and interactive way and visitors can independently discover, learn and find out a great deal of information about the cultural, historical and natural heritage of the islands.
The Boathouse, a building characterized by Secession stylistic features, was erected in 1902 by Paul Kupelwieser, an Austrian industrialist and the owner of the islands at the time.
At the very entrance you will meet doctor Lenz who lived and worked in the house. He has spent more than 30 years with his family here, and therefore the introductory part of the exhibition is dedicated to his life on the island and to numerous famous visitors to the island at the beginning of the 20th century.
In the Education and Interpretation Center, an interactive permanent exhibition, divided into six thematic units, was set up: “Brijuni Time Machine”, “Brijuni Archipelago”, “Mainland,” “Submarine World”, “Threats” and “Awareness”.